Headlight refurbishment/modification

So having had to reseal one lens already and I'm going to have to do another it is very evident that the stock reflectors are beginning to oxidize and not do their job anymore on a lot of our cars. I have researched quite a bit on what can be done about this, and thus far I have found *nothing* that can be done by a hobbyist at home. There are no paints that can adequately reflect light for a headlight application. For reflectors, marker lights, tail lights, etc....sure. NOT for headlights.

The way it is done from the factory is vaporized aluminum deposition in a vacuum chamber. I have seen a few home made solutions for this, but even being an engineer I don't know that I would build something like that for home use on that large of a scale (for R/C cars or models...that kind of thing, no problem, but this chamber would be orders of magnitude larger).

I have been eyeballing the front of my car since I saw this problem and have been trying to come up with different solutions.

#1: does anyone know of a place that does headlight restoration, specifically for the reflector lens?

#2: has anyone successfully pulled off a restoration at home? If so, car to share?

#3: has anyone done any significant modification to the headlight, such as making them accept a projector housing?

I also know about an aerospace product that *if* it could be applied to the reflector without wrinkling and it could withstand the heat, would absolutely solve the issue. I'm going to look more into it and possibly try it. If it works, I'll be sure to "tell the world"!

• 1 month later...