Cleaning paint off of pot metal

1940TORPEDO

I am wanting to strip the paint off my taillight stand/bracket. It is pot metal so I'm guessing I don't want to sand blast it. What is the best was to strip the paint without hurting the metal? I'm a fair mechanic but when it comes to body and paint work I'm afraid I am lacking.

Thanks,

Allen

20160426_194123.jpg

Edited by 1940TORPEDO
ggg gg (see edit history)

Why not use good old paint remover. I can understand not wanting to sandblast it, but if you can find a shop that does bead blasting, I agree that would be the way.

3 minutes ago, 46 woodie said:

Why not use good old paint remover. I can understand not wanting to sandblast it, but if you can find a shop that does bead blasting, I agree that would be the way.

I could do that as I have a few cans. Reading the cautions on the back made me wonder. It gave many cautions concerning objects that it could be applied to. If it was steel or some other ferrous metal I'd have no objections and dive right in but with being pot metal I'm guess I'm being overly cautious.

I've always wanted a blast cabinet, now I have one more reason to get one. 

Rather then glass beads I use aluminum oxide in my blast cabinet, gives a very fine clean surface to the metal . Just make sure you get all traces of the fine powder left in crevices out - take outside and blow off with an air hose. Make sure you don't get any in your eyes blowing it off.

I like the orange citrus paint remover from places like Lowes. It won't burn you and works well. It is about 20 bucks a quart and I always have some on the shelf. They make a neutralizer but soap and water works fine.

Bernie

• Like 1