58 buick transmission push me around

Guest saints

Guest saints

Im getting the bugs worked out of my new(to me) 58 buick special. One issue that bothers me and this is my first time with a dynoflow trans so not sure if its just the way they are but...... When I put it in reverse I better have my foot smashed good and hard on the brake or else it engages and i go flying backwards. also the same when I stop at a light I have to have my foot crammed on the brake because the car is always trying to take off. I have checked idol speed its at 550 or little below. is this normal. seems like I am wore out after driving the car around because of the constant holding the car back with all my might on the brake pedal.  

Are you sure the carburetor is not sticking on fast idle when you are driving the car? That's what it sounds like. Yes, you have to put your foot on the brake but that sounds excessive. I would say slow it down to 450 rpm at idle.

Pete Phillips, BCA #7338

1958 model 49D

Leonard, TX

Guest saints

it does idle pretty high when I throw it in park. I used a dwell meter to set idle. Ill try turning it down. 

Ill pull out my manual and look into the trans pressure. 

reverse is the worse of the two it will bark the tires. depending on the type of concrete when I put it in reverse 

New to you!!!!

Is/was it a barn find (parked up for a long time) or is this the reason it was sold?