41 110 Special Coupe, nice but plain seats??

lincolnmatthews

Hello all, hopefully a Packard owner someday!. Looking at a 110 Special Coupe (on Hemmings) beautiful car. I'm just concerned about the looks of the seats, there are no pleats or buttons in the upholstery, just plain rather unattractive seats. Is this correct for a 110 versus say a 120? The owner says its an original interior, but he's only owned it for about 3 yrs, so he may not really know. The previous owner is deceased, so who knows. Other years I found on line seems to have a more attractive interior.

Anyway would appreciate some feedback, as I love the looks of the car (especially the 41 dash)!! Thanks.

G'day Lincoln,

Looking at Hemmings there are 2 '41 110 Coupes, I presume the one you're interested in is the maroon one?  

Maroon Hemmings Coupe

It certainly appears to have very plain upholstery and may not be "correct". I really don't know, although I have a '41 120 Coupe, I'm not an expert just an enthusiast. I'm in Australia, but about 9 years ago when I bought my '41 in Idaho I also had the opportunity to inspect a '41 110 Coupe at that time and I'm attaching a pic of it's interior. Although it too appears to be plain, on closer inspection you can see there are "line features" in it.

And a couple of other comments.

- I see the maroon coupe has A/C, but it's not a factory setup they are VERY rare. Although the seller says that '40 Packards could be had with A/C it's obviously a more recent installation, probably a vintage air type unit. Also with the positioning of the A/C compressor I'm wondering where the generator is as that's where it usually sits.

- Concerning the other Coupe on offer on Hemmings although not as "sparkling" as the Maroon Coupe, it certainly shouldn't be dismissed.

Black Coupe