Restoring a 1953 324 Olds Rocket - Want to do it right....

Peter P

Over the winter I bought a Restoring a 1953 Olds Rocket that had been torn down by  - I want to do it correctly but this is my first time to rebuild a legacy engine or any engine. I plan to get the engine block hot dipped and inspected first. 

What I am hoping is to see if I have all the correct parts for that year. Most of the numbers look like the Smith be matching. I am hoping experienced 324 aficionado's might lend me some advice photos or whatever to help a newbie. 

This engine is in Canada so I am assuming it may be a Canadian made Olds? 

Here are pictures of what I have so far. It is very dirty so I am hoping no signs of abuse etc.

post-101605-0-16696100-1457552111_thumb.

post-101605-0-63928300-1457552150_thumb.

post-101605-0-04859900-1457552200_thumb.

post-101605-0-33836800-1457552257_thumb.

post-101605-0-61434800-1457552395_thumb.

post-101605-0-55073800-1457552415_thumb.

567405 is a 1956 324 block.  FYI, you might want to merge the three or four threads you've started on this topic.  You'll usually get a better overall answer if all responses are in a single thread, so that incorrect answers can be caught and corrected by others.

Thank you for the replies. I was going to delete the other erroneously entitled "350" thread but cannot find a way to simply delete it. 

Would merging help me to delete/select what stay in this new... correct thread?

Peter

Joe, that was going to be one of my questions. I looked closely at the block this morning and saw a "56" stamped on it. That made me wonder. It is conceivable that the heads are 53 and the block 56? Do some years mix and match? 

Pete

Did a little more research today. It looks like the block might be better than if it has been a 53. I found this online: The '56 324 was a decent little performer in its day, utilizing a cast-iron four-barrel intake manifold and a 9.25:1 compression ratio to make 230 hp and 340 lb-ft of torque.