A primer on primer

bharaway

I am beginning work on the body panels of my 55 Century 2dr. I  was wanting the sage advice of those having finished the race regarding the best first "on bare metal"  primer to use. I would like to use a non- isocyante primer that I can shoot in my garage. It would be nice to get yall to weigh in on building primers as well. I am thinking epoxy primer 2k with no chromate to "cover and protect" each part or panel until I get around to completing the body work and begin the build up primers for block sanding. Quality and safety are #1, availability is #2 and price 3. I have heard some say use an etching primer first then build. Also, does anyone have an opinion about the slick-sand product for building and block sanding?  Thanks for the help. 

I am not a professional, but I do know that the local body shop will use different products and procedures than the hobbyist or the restorer does. I use PPG DPLF epoxy primer over bare metal. PROS: It sprays real easy. It is an excellent rust inhibitor and it does not have to be top coated for long term protection. You can also use the same product as a sealer by adding thinner. (No additional products to buy for sealer) It also comes in different colors if you are using it as a sealer. CONS: It is expensive. You have to use what you mix. You must scuff and re-coat before any additional top coats if it sits more than a week. I am sure there are less expensive products out there that are similar, but PPG is sold locally. You must have good ventilation and good quality mask or fresh air system. (If you can smell the paint through the mask it is not working)   Mud

• Like 3