1963 Buick Riviera second time around

SwedeDownUnderR63

Hi All,

This is my first append to the Riviera Forum. Let me introduce myself:

I bought my first -63 Riviera in Sweden in 1976 at the tender age of 19. It was my second American car (a 1966 T-Bird was my first) and the Riviera was so much better on the road then the Ford.

Lots of things had to be fixed on the Riviera and, being rather unpractical, I was lucky to have met a young woman that was/is a welder by trade. She spent many hours fixing rust on the car. The engine (401) and the Dynaflow transmission was renovated (I have a very nice mechanically inclined brother in law, in fact there are two of them) and the car was finally painted in red flake. I had that car for 6 years until I regretfully had to sell it.

The registration number on that car was DPL 846 in case it still is running around in Sweden and is owned by a ROA member. The old car (before the red flake):

post-155199-0-70430600-1449888429_thumb.

I have always missed my Riviera and finally (a few months ago) I bought another 1963 Riviera from Nick Lo Presti in Sydney (Australia). So now I have the pleasure again to drive a car that I always loved although it feels somewhat strange to ride on the left hand side of the road Down Under with a car that also have the steering wheel on the left hand side.

I had the new car at the American Car Nationals in Queanbeyan in November and we got the Best Survivor price. I assumed that it was the car that deserved the price and not me, you never know at my age. Thank you Nick as I haven’t done anything more than bought the car. Proud nutty owner:

post-155199-0-49006200-1449888447_thumb.