MrEarl

MrEarl's Old Buick Barn

As some of you may know,  I have been working on building a new garage since my retirement a couple of years ago. I have been spending ALL my time on it, it is going sooooooo sloooowwwww and I feel I have been neglecting all my fitty fo's and even my old faithful first Buick Barn. To ease my conscience a bit, I thought I would share some pictures and a few comments on my "Old Buick Barn".

After Rita and I completed building our house back in '87, I set about building my "get away". (This was before the term "Man Cave" ever came into use, but I never use that term even today) I ran 100 amps electric along with telephone, cable and security down from the house. Prices on cedar were good in those days so I used cedar on the siding and the interior walls. I had salvaged some 2 X 8 and 2 X 10 fir from a lumber company that was being torn down and most of the framing is built from it. It had been brought in from the west back in the early twenties. I loved working with that wood. I had help with the concrete slab but other than that did all the work by myself. A few years after the initial build I enclosed the lower side so as to make more room for compressor, sandblasting, grinding and other dirty jobs that I don't want in the "car room".

Looking back and seeing how much full time work I am spending on the new garage, I wonder how the heck I ever built the old one while working a full time job and spending time with family. 

So here below are a few of my favorite pictures, some of which are pretty old and some of the Buicks have gone on down Buick Highway.......

TheBuickBarnBuild001_zpse85fd9cc.jpg

TheBuickBarnBuild002_zps083fb1cd.jpg

TheBuickBarnBuild004_zpsac3b2316.jpg