Too Early?

Guest hankakston

Guest hankakston

I bought my 1992 Honda Civic Hatchback in 1992. Paid cash. Now, it's coming on 25 years. It has 86,592 actual miles. I wonder when it will be considered an antique. So that I can invest in proper insurance. As it is, it sits just waiting to be stolen. When it's legally an antique here in Indiana I will get it restored to simple factory. Nothing special. Just needs new paint (a bit of rust, not more than a quarter square inch behind the back wheels.) As you might notice, I'm no expert at cars. I just want it insured for more than the Blue Book price. Already there are some who my wife has had to chase away. They say, for example, "We've seen the car sitting here. Figured it's for sale." So, I'd spend two weeks standing guard at night, watching for someone to sneak up. My phone with 911 in one hand, a weapon in the other. So far, so good. I drove it to CA in '92. And then back to Indiana. Twice to Philly and back. Three times to Wichita and back. Otherwise it's our "backup car". Never in a garage, so the hood and top are pretty much whited out. Mechanically never fails. But insurance won't cover what it's worth at all. Not talking about what it's worth to me sentimentally - my wife or I take it for gas and invariably get offers. But I won't sell. Just want to restore it and keep it. 

As I say, just getting ready for when it turns 25. Then I'll look into the Indiana plate for "Antique" whatever. I'm pretty ignorant about all this. When the time comes, all I want to do is have it restored to the original factory finish outside. And all the rest of it as to rubber molding etc. around the windows etc.

Glad for any information I need as the time gets closer. I wonder: I bought it in June '92. But don't they come out with the new models in September the year before? When will this Honda actually be eligible for antique status as to insurance and government plates? 

• 3 weeks later...