Whining sound from rear when on partial load Buick -48

Guest wacker

Guest wacker

Hi

I got a Buick roadmaster -48 with Dynaflow that got a whining/howling sound from the rear when driving.

You can hear it under partial load and it peaks around 50 MPH. If you either starts to accelerate or take you foot of the gas it goes away. It also goes away directly if a just make a slight left turn.

The fact that is changes depending on the load of the rear axle makes me thinking about the rear axle but since it changes when I make turns is strange. Is it possible that that the rear wheel bearing sound will change depending on if im accelerating or not?  Or can the sound from carrier bearing/gears change when you make a turn?

Happy for any advices on what I should do. I already got new wheel bearings on the shelf that I can use. But should I also buy more parts like carrier bearings before I take it apart at all?

Regards

Stefan 

Guest wacker

From what I understand gear and ring noise should normally be during acceleration and should not either change when turning.

From what I have been able to find carrier bearing sound can change when turning on cars with c-clips(I believe this differential got it).

Its not easy to find anyone experienced in rear ends around here and I dont like the idea with leaving the car at a shop for weeks. I I dont do it by myself I think I would rather take the whole rear end there. 

In any case it would be nice to hear if anyone else had the same noise and got it fixed.

Get some differential bearings on hand (Rockauto or Amazon) and take the rear cover off.  If the gears look scored, put the cover back on and enjoy for the season or until replacements are found.  If all 'looks' good check for side play in the carrier and after that is removed, check for obvious play in the pinion:  thrust and side. Inspect, clean and service the axle seals and bearings.  Check back with your findings.

Willie

• Like 1

Guest wacker