29-27 starting problem

jps

Last summer I drove my car several times and although it was not a great starter I always could get it going.  However, since last September I have not been able to start my car.  I replaced the heat riser tube, and confirmed that I have spark at all 6 plugs and at least minimal compression on all cylinders (compression was about 55, 55, 55, 30, 50, 50 psi on cylinders 1 - 6).  I also am positive that gas gets to the carb bowl.  I try starting 4-5 times and the engine cranks but never fires.  Starting fluid does not help.  Also, I removed the spark plugs afterwards and they are dry.  However, gas drips out of the air cleaner by the time I stop attempting to start. 

I just took apart and cleaned the carburetor.  The nozzles do not appear cracked and after cleaning they are not plugged.  The float is OK.  I do not see anything that looks wrong although I am a newbie.  My guess is that the low-speed nozzle was plugged with dirt, and now I have cleaned it out.  I will try to start again tomorrow, but can anybody think of something else that might explain dry plugs while the air cleaner drips fuel after several start attempts?

Thanks.

Based on what you have posted, I would suspect the compression. With an updraft carburetor, the vacuum must be sufficient to draw the fuel UP into the cylinders.

Dry plugs, but fuel in the air intake indicates the fuel is not being drawn into the cylinders.

The oldest compression information I have on Buick is 1931, so might be slightly different from the 1929; factory compression pressure on the 1931 was 97 psi (from old Motors manual).