unlead gas

I am useing unlead gas in a 1952 Studebaker V-8. I add the lead additive but does not seem to work as well as needed. Car has 54,000 miles and engine does not use any oil.Is there any way I can improve valve lubrication other than what I am doing?What do you use? I am hoping I can get by without changing the valves to unleaded gas requirements.

Let me begin with a disclaimer. I have no background as an automotive or fuels engineer.<P>That being said, let me give my personal evaluation based on my correspondence with the chief engineer [in 1984] for engines, of one of the big three automobile companies. This exchange of correspondence took place while I was AACA Vice President of Technical Matters during the phase out period for lead in gasoline.<P>Basically, the concern is out of proportion to the problem. In older, low compression engine cars, used as we do in the HOBBY, the problem doesn't really exist.<P>Where the problem arises is in the era of muscle cars and cars with high compression engines 10 to 1 and the like. Add air conditioning, highway driving at speeds around 80, temperatures in the 90's and you are inviting trouble.<P>Does a '52 Stude fall in that category?<P>Final thought. How many of you have actually had a problem with valve seat precession on a low compression engine or known someone who has? Not stories, but fact. I haven't. How about you Rick? ~ hvs<BR>