Body Work

Guest Hal Davis (MODEL A HAL)

The deeper I dig into this project, the more I realize I'm a better mechanic than body man. Does anyone out there know of a book or website with information on doing body work? Especially with respect to the proper use of body hammers and dollies, and use of body filler. Maybe I need to have my fingertips calibrated. This may sound crazy, but I sometimes have trouble distinguishing high spots from low spots. I can feel a bump, but can't tell what's high and what's low. I have heard of people spraying two contrasting colors of primer, then sanding to tell where it is high and where it is low. The problem with this is if you need to add more filler, then you need to take all of the primer back off.