Where to get judged

danleblanc

I'm new to the AACA and judging in general. I've judged for the Cadillac Lasalle Club before but this seems to be a whole kettle of fish.

Anyhow, I had my 61 Fleetwood at Hershey this year where I received a 2nd place in my category trying for a junior badge. I've requested the judging summary to see what I need to correct to hopefully get my First Junior. Before I haul the car all the way back to PA next year, I'm just wondering if there's anywhere much closer to me where I could show the car and get judged for a First Junior. I'm in Southern New Brunswick, Canada, about 20 minutes away from the Maine border at Calais.

Hershey is a tough place to win. Your car may have had the points, but with AACA you have the 10 point spread. You could've easily had a car well into the 380's, but if you had a 400 point car in your class, you could pull a Second Junior with 389 points.

With AACA, if you're going for a First Junior or a Senior, you have to be at or above the required points, but still remain within 10 points of the best car in class. I judged at Hershey (not your class) and I know for a fact that there was one car in our class that scored a 400. The car was absolutely gorgeous, but it really put a hurting on the other cars in class.

Buffalo should be a smaller meet than Hershey, so with smaller meets, you most likely have fewer cars to compete against. If you make the corrections with your car and take it to Buffalo, you should be okay.

You already know that your car pulled a Second Junior. In either case you might've missed First Junior by one point, or you may have missed it by 10 points. You could've missed your award by something as small as a headlight bulb or a cap on your valve stems.

Edited by ex98thdrill (see edit history)