• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 McMalcolm

McMalcolm

• Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 November 2012 - 06:33 PM

Attached is part of a photograph that will be used on the back cover of an automobile book. It was taken in Fort Collins, CO around 1912. I'm trying to make sure I get the models of the two end cars correct and I'm not good at identifying them.

Do you think the end car is an Arco Touring Car? Is the one next to it a Model T? Thanks.

College Color Postcard BW Car Closeup.jpg

#2 CarlLaFong

CarlLaFong

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,267 posts
  • LocationSunny SoCal

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:59 PM

The second car is a Model T. Never heard of an Arco. It's too big to be an Argo and too small to be an ALCO

"Indecision is the key to flexibility"

John Callin

Formerly known as "58Mustang"

#3 trimacar

trimacar

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 4,673 posts
  • LocationWinchester VA.

Posted 15 November 2012 - 09:00 PM

The car closest to the camera is a REO, 1910 Model R. The wings point up on the radiator badge, indicating 1910, and the Model R had the scuttle dash that the car in the picture has. This car would have been dark blue with a white/ivory running gear.

The second car, definitely Model T, but to me it looks like a 1914 or later car. I'll let the Ford guys comment on that.....

Edited by trimacar, 15 November 2012 - 09:07 PM.

David Coco
Winchester Va.
(early upholstery, will discuss
2015 projects)
1910 Model 20 Hupmobile runabout
1910 Buick Model 16 toy tonneau
1910 Hudson Model 20 fore door roadster
1927 Dodge fast four convertible coupe
1931 Chevrolet tudor
1931 Pierce Arrow Model 43 phaeton
1937 Cord standard phaeton
1938 Packard Super 8 convertible coupe
1953 Chevrolet 5 window pickup
1967 Lincoln Continental convertible
1969 Cutlass convertible
1971 Pontiac Firebird Esprit

#4 oldford

oldford

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 813 posts

Posted 16 November 2012 - 01:25 AM