'55 Roadmaster front suspension question - control arm bushing

wex65

So, I am rebuilding the front suspension on a recent purchase, a 1955 Buick Roadmaster.

I am new to this type of vehicle so apologies if my questions appear basic!

I have stripped down one corner and am in the process of rebuilding the upper control arm inner bushing and appear to have a problem.

You can see from the photo that one end of the bushing has screwed in fine, the other however has not. I have applied quite some pressure but the cap only turns in maybe 1-2 rotations before halting. The mounting bar rotates smoothly on it so I know it is on square. I tried the other cap (which is fully on the other end in the photos) and that had the same issue.

I tried putting one of the old caps on and that went on fine. It does appear that the thread cut into the inside of the arm end is most odd, not very clearly defined.

So, what is it that wears in these parts? Is there anything in the end caps that 'wears' and if not is there any disadvantage at all in re-using one of the old caps?

Also, after cleaning the arm I notice what look like a weld repair in it, see second photo. Is it possible this was the original method of assembly or is this indeed a repair? Don't know if this is something I should be worried about. The arm seems very solid...

Any help appreciated.

Paul

post-85740-14313898674_thumb.jpg

post-85740-143138986754_thumb.jpg

I looked at my spare 1956 upper arms and they both looked as yours with a welded part in the middle.

I you are loosen the cap on left side first picture 1-2 or more rotaitons and then try to rotate 1-2 on the right side ,if that works the angle must be a little bit wrong,or maybe you need to rotate more on left side to rotate the right side against the opposite cap.Just a thought.Or try to start to skrew the caps just 1 rotation on each side,then 2,then 3.

Leif in Sweden

Leif