Request year info.

Guest m_kent

Guest m_kent

I have a master parts CD. The engine parts I have are not listed on the CD.

The block # is 1328867-3

The crank# is 1307660

The rod # are 1336056

The only paint I can find on the block is turqusoise (42-52). This engine was in the 39 model 46 and had the serial number ground off.

Thanks,

Mike

Guest m_kent

All of these numbers came from the same engine. I am not a machinest, the best I can tell the main bearing size is larger than listed for 39.

The nearest machine shop is 120 miles.

There must be a way to determine the year from the casting numbers. I have three engines, all have different casting numbers.

There must be a way to determine the year from the casting numbers. I have three engines, all have different casting numbers.
Never seem this information in any documentation I have. A casting could be machined into a different part number from year to year. I did start a list for 1939 casting vs part number but cannot find it on my computer.

Team Buick Forum has a casting list for V8 Buick Engine Identification the guys have built up. [May need to register to view] Team Buick Forum

Never seen a list for straight 8's

Does block # 1328867-3 have 4 tapped pads about no 3 cylinder ? (So a 1948 or later engine).

It may even be be a 1951 ? 263 ci engine

Post 25 in this thread has useful information on identification of a 263 vs 248

http://www.teambuick.com/forums/showthread.php?21383-Which-is-better

Edited by 1939_buick
spelling (see edit history)

Guest m_kent

Yes Allan, that is the block.

The casting # on the known 39 are 1328787 2.

The casting # on the known 40 are 1311572 3.

Mike

This is the only '39 engine block casting number I can take a pic of at the moment.

A couple went to Simm's and my 2 spares are miles away.

It's from an early production car as it had a short chassis.

(look familiar Al :))

Danny

post-37069-143138942202_thumb.jpg