Feedback sought... or maybe talk me out of this...

I am about to retire. I am searching for a motorhome, primarily to go to as many AACA events as possible in the future. It has been about 10 years since I owned a motorhome. I have been searching for a 30 or so foot long Class A Motorhome so my disabled wife can sleep in while I attend judging schools, get the Model A on the showfield and do whatever.

I have no experience with Diesel powered vehicles. I happened across this and am considering it. It is not equipped to be as comfortable as what I was initially looking for but I could easily do some modifications to it myself. I am thinking that it might be nice not to have to worry about all the issues of trailering. Am I crazy or should I give it serious consideration? Anybody who knows anything about similar vehicles, please chime in.

RACE CAR HAULER-TOTER-TRANSPORTER-RV : eBay Motors (item 320506826753 end time Mar-30-10 13:46:44 PDT)

My buddy owned a toterhome type RV to pull his race car trailer. While they can be a huge asset they are a bunch of work to own. The International based unit required normal truck type maintenance which not everyone likes to do. If it is a truck unit filters and large amounts of motor oil are involved. The fun only begins there. Most RVs have several on board systems. They include plumbing, generators, and other systems. Keeping the batteries up and all the charging systems was a challenge. They usually have a stove and refrigerator unit. This means propane, etc. They normally run off the truck systems while moving down the road but then need to switch over to generator or shore power when parked. This means transfer switches and so.

The great part was it gave a good base of operations while at the track. The truck handled the car trailer like it was not there. It was great buying a cheap RV plate and no special drivers tag needed.