1941 Packard Clipper Convertible by Darrin

Guest 1950Buick

Guest 1950Buick

I am looking for photos of the 1941 Packard Clipper convertible built by Dutch Darrin for Errol Flynn. Although it is often mentioned in books and magazines, I have yet to see the actual car (which should still exist). Anyone have pics they could post?

Guest 1950Buick

Yes, he had a Darrin-bodied 180 as well but I am only interested in seeing the Clipper. Someone's gotta have a photo.

This the photo you're thinking of? It's been published in any number of books and magazines over the years, though I don't have any info on the date of the photo or the photo credit. The car was a 42, not a 41, and I have no knowledge that the car has survived, though I do believe a couple of knock-offs have been attempted.

post-49751-143138068019_thumb.jpg

Guest bkazmer

the spring 1992 Cormorant has photos and an article - Tom Sumner once owned the original, and said it was destroyed. He recreated one from a closed Clipper.

Guest 1950Buick

Thank you for the photo. I guess a black & white image is the best I'm going to get if the information from "bkazmer" is correct and the original car was destroyed.

The car is clearly a '41 - not a '42. Note the '41 grille. My information about the car is correct, however the 1:43 scale replica that was created by Western Models of England for Mini Marque has a gray-beige boot cover. Maybe their model is based on Tom Sumner's later replica?

2f6c_12.jpg

344f_12.jpg

39ad_12.jpg

• 7 months later...
Guest Tom sumner