Looking to Sell 1940 Zephyr Convertible

HermannMO

Hello! I am new to the world of Zephyrs as a friend of mine has asked me to sell his 1940 Convertible for him. I was wondering if you all had any advice on what information collectors are looking for in an eBay auction. The owner is an 80+ year old retired Naval officer and has had this beauty since 1993. When he bought it, it had just over 11,000 miles on it and now it has 12,727. He doesn't know for sure if they are original miles or not, but the previous owner told him they were original miles and the Z was in an estate collection for over 30 years and never driven very much. The VIN is H97188 and I'm not sure what you can tell from that number, but I'm sure someone out there can tell me something. He said he has overhauled the engine in 1995 and replaced the top about that same time. He wants $65,000 for it, but I'm not sure if that's a fair price or not. He also has about $4000 in extra parts that he wanted to "throw in" with the auction, but I imagine we would be better off selling the additional parts separately. I took some photos of it and I'll attempt to post them here. zephyr1.JPG

zephyr2.JPG

zephyr3.JPG

zephyr4.JPG

zephyr5.JPG

zephyr6.JPG

zephyr7.JPG

Thanks for all of your help in advance! After reading through a lot of these posts, I'm sure this board can help us out.

I will try to answer all questions as soon as possible.

Thanks! Brian

Very nice car, indeed!

I would recommend placing an ad in the "Pre-War cars for sale" classified section at www.lzoc.org (Yeah, I know, Jeff, those ads seem to stay there forever, but they're free and you never know when somebody will like the car and make a deal).

If the car has a Columbia 2-speed rear axle, it's value will increase substantially and should be mentioned in any ad you place.