Help me fix my 1949 Cadillac

manncad

Hi, I'm a french winemaker who worked 8 years in Napa CA.

Back in 1999, I bought a 1949 Cadillac, I restored it myself after getting lots of information from the right people at the right time. Now, it's back in France. It always ran very well until a few months ago when it started to smell gas, smoke black and also the ignition coil would get really hot. So I changed Distributor cap, rotor, condenser, plugs, wires plugs, points, gaz pump, and ignition coil...nothing changed. I am out of ideas. I took apart the carburator but everything looked ok.

I'm ready for any suggestion.

Thanks

Emmanuel

I think the compression is good but how can I check it ?

I am not a mechanic, more like a winemaker, but I learned a lot in the US. Here in France, we don't have big V8 and everything is now electronic, so it's hard to find a real good mechanic.

Is the choke the " trapp " on top of the carburator ?

<div class="ubbcode-block"><div class="ubbcode-header">Quote:</div><div class="ubbcode-body">Is the choke the " trapp " on top of the carburator ? </div></div>

Yes, although it's more commonly called the "butterfly". It closes off the air intake to the carb to create a richer mixture for cold conditions at startup.