1923 Buick 4-39 Engine problem

DaveAspi

I have recently got my 1923-4-39 running and on the road (see previous posts and video) and have come across an issue that i'd like the clubs advice on. my Buick has been running well for the past few months, I run her every weekend with many smiles and thumbs up as I drive down PCH. Yesterday, when I fired her up she ran well for about 2 minutes, then sputtered down to running on 3 cylindres. I let her sit for a few minutes, fired her up again, and the same thing happened. I continued this cycle all day- hoping that she would somehow "fix herself". Well she hasn't.

It is my #2 cylinder each time- runs smooth, craps out after about 2 minutes, let her sit fires up smooth- craps out to 3 cylinders.

I am by no means a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination, a tinkerer at best.

Changed the #2 plug, changed the #2 wires.

What do you think it is, and where should I start?

I'll keep the forum updated.post-49586-143143025076_thumb.jpg

post-49586-143143025047_thumb.jpg

Dave,

First, just do one thing at a time to find the problem and try the easy to fix items first. You have already eliminated bad wire or plug, so I would next check for a crack or carbon deposits in the distributor cap. You can use WD-40 to clean it up. Next, you could do a compression test to see if #2 is lower than the rest. That would mean either a burnt valve or worn rings causing low compression.

Edited by Mark Shaw (see edit history)

I will agree with Mark on doing only one thing at a time.

My rule for fixing something is to FIX THE OBVIOUS FIRST!.

Got burned once by not following this rule and have never violated it since. I spent a lot of time trying to diagnose a no start problem years ago and it turned out to be a damaged wire that I did not think was the problem.