Hi all...first time post '36 Dodge sedan delivery

Guest wishbone

Guest wishbone

Howdy!

I've lurked around on this site from time to time and even post a couple of times in the Lincoln Zephyr section...but those days are gone and now I'm starting up on my dad's 1936 Dodge Delivery. It's the humpback type (we have affectionately always called it the "Hunch Back") and it's in rough shape. He bought it when he was 15 yrs old and drove it until I was 15 or 16. I'm now 43 and would like to drag it out of the barn and make a go of it.

I've been spending most of my tinkering time on Hudsons and one '38 Packard Six....which I still have and might sell in order to have some money to put into the Hunch Back. I'm a amateur but like to do things as right as I can afford. Which usually means beautifully perfect running engines and drive-train, but never a paint job or new interior have I seen. Oh well... Maybe this old Dodge will be a different story.

I (and my brother and sister) have sort of held this old truck up on a pedestal ever since our father passed 16 years ago. After he died I carefully (or so I remember) rolled it into the barn and boarded up the walls and door. It has sat there ever since gathering dust and probably little furry inhabitants. I say probably because I now live in Northern California and the Hunch Back still resides in Montana out of my site and attention. My son and I have decided to take a trip up there to retrieve the old girl and while there say hi to grandma, aunts, uncles and cousins. He's now 16 and it's high time to have some father son adventure. Of course he is wishing that it was a '69 Firebird we were after, but hey...he got time to develop a sense of taste.