How To Paint a Pre War-Assembled or Disassembled

midman

Hi Everyone,

Maybe a silly question but this is my first prewar resto. I am doing a driver grade restoration on my 31 96S coupe and pulled the fenders, running boards, hood, gas tank cover, etc, etc. I am getting them chemically stripped and then stripping the rest of the body on frame.

Basically I wanted to clean up the frame and all those nooks and crannys of 80 years of dirt and grease.

Anyway once stripped and prepped for paint is it best to paint the individual parts before assembly or put it all back together and the shoot it?

Pros and cons of each from those who have been there done that?

Chuck

I'm no expert on 1931's, but I'm fairly certain the fender welt should not be painted. So if you want originality probably best to paint the pieces individually.

Wow, you're right of course. After all that welting I took off you'd think I would have thought of that.

Another thing that concerns me though is that a couple of the trim pieces that go over the frame etc are pretty flexible and I don't want the paint to crack. Maybe I'll mount them to a board prior to the final painting

If I may mildly dissent here . . . In my experience, disassembling pre-war cars for painting should not be an all-or-nothing proposition. Disassembling, painting, and then re-assembling entails substantial risk of damaging, scratching, or cracking the new finish due to the handling required (which has happened in my case more than once). So, in the case of a fender, for example, I've found it safer to pull the piece, paint out the mating flanges, and then loosely re-install the piece (temporarily without welting, of course) before further painting. However, as previously suggested, that sequence wouldn't work well in some applications (such as catwalk valances) due to sanding/buffing difficulties, in which case there's little alternative but to take one's chances by reassembling newly finished panels. Scary!

~ Charlie Manes