Where to find VIN on 1939 Packard 120

Guest counterpoint

I have applied to be a licensed DMV VIN Verifier here in California so these questions, of course, always interest me because I am also a Packard owner. I am still learning but as I understand it there is not really a standardization of whether the engine or body-production number is used but this may vary depending on your state. My own thought is, when possible, use the body-production number to save hassle if the engine is ever changed.

According to packardinfo.com, the 1939 VN (VINs weren't used until the '70s) is located as:

(1700) Serial number located on metal plate on firewall. This also included body type number plus the production number of that particular car, starting with a base number of 2000. Starting: body type number plus 2001. Engine number located on boss on upper left corner of cylinder block. Starting B-1501, Ending: 99999. (1701, 1702) Serial number located on metal plate on firewall. This also included the body type number plus production number of that particular model, the last number having a starting base of 2000. Starting: body type number plus 2001. Engine numbers located on boss on upper left corner of cylinder block. Starting: B-300001, Ending: 399999. (1703, 1705) Serial number located on a metal rectangular plate on the firewall. The plate also showed the body type number plus the production number of that particular car, starting with a base number of 2000. Starting: body type number plus 2001. Engine numbers located on upper half of crankcase, left side, front end. Starting: B-500001, Ending: 599999. (1707, 1708) Serial number located on rectangular plate on the firewall. In 1939 this plate showed the body type code plus the production number for that body type starting with a base number of 2000. Starting: body type number plus 2001. Engine numbers located on left side of the block below the distributor. Starting Number B-600001; Ending 620999.

I hope this helps!