1957 Buick Caballero in Mexico

V.Milke

Hi,

Newbie here... living in Queretaro, Mexico. New to the forum, though I have posted on several other forums within this great AACA site. Not new to Buicks, as I have a 1964 Riviera which I adore and restored some 20 years ago or so, to be my daily driver back then and I still use it quite a bit.

Anyhow... I just got a 1957 Buick Century Caballero. I have been around one for years, from a great friend of mine and I love them, so I just got this dificult project for me as my 49th birthday present.

By difficult I mean it is basically a good body which was being turned into a hotrod, so the chassis was cut and adapted. It was never finished and now I have a body with cut chassis with no mechanical components, very little trim, etc... a nightmare, perhaps, but I am eager to do it as I love Caballeros.

I already found a short wheelbase sedan in good original condition which will become the donor for my Caballero and with which I will get all of the mechanical components plus a good amount of the trim. I will be missing, of course, the Estate wagon specific trim, which I will need to locate.

I requested some help in another site and got a first decoding, but things don't match exactly... and since I am having a lot of problems with that site, and just discovered this one (though I have been posting in several other forums within the site), I am trying my luck again here.

First, a pic of the plate:

14.08, 1957 Buick Century Caballero, vmg (47).JPG

I was told by a very helpful BCA member, Sean S., that I hope posts here also:

1957 MOD 69

BODY No 7701

TRIM No 636 V

PAINT No XX

ACC. BFG

1957 = 1957 model year

MOD 69 = Buick model 69 = 4-door hardtop (Riviera) estate wagon (Caballero), 6-passenger

BODY No 0 7701

7701 = 7701th model 69 built

Trim 636 = Black and Ivory Cordaveen, available on Model 69

Paint code XX = solid Sylvan Grey

Accessory (ACC.) option codes:

B = Heater and defroster