1955 Buick Super - hood is stuck...

1955Buick

Hi folks,

I am new to the forum - thanks for any help you can provide.

I have had a 1955 Buick Super for 2 years. It is in pretty good shape and my son and I have had lots of fun with it.

I occasionally try to make improvements, and am usually successful, but I blew it this time. The hood often "pops up" (but is caught by the safety latch), and I wanted to fix this. Someone suggested moving the hood lock "back towards the engine", so I did this. It was good advice, in a way. The hood does not pop up any more. But I cannot open it intentionally either.

I have tried poking a screwdriver in at the "blade" that holds the lock down, with no luck. I've tried poking and pushing and pulling wherever I can reach with a coat hanger, etc. I have tried everything non-destructive I can think of, but somehow the relationship of the lock and latch is now such that I cannot pop the hood. I'm not a total slouch, but I'm not a mechanic, either.

Any ideas on what I might need to take apart to get at the latch and make an adjustment? Take the bumper and grille off? I just have no ideas.

Thanks,

Patrick

If it's like the 56, you can't get the grill off without opening the hood. If it is also like the 56 the catch on the hood is a bolt , of sorts, holding on a spring and a few washers. In the 56 there is a small chance of getting access to this bolt and removing the catch from the hood. I am posting a few pictures of the 56. I leave it to the 55 guys to tell you if this is possible.

Look at the head of this bolt. It is sloted like a large screw. You would need a slotted head for a socket set and a universal joint, or two, to try and reach this bolt/screw from under the car.

post-31834-14314268998_thumb.jpg

What I would try is to get to that bolt/screw from under the car, through that gap beneath the radiator.

post-31834-143142689992_thumb.jpg

The picture below shows why you can't get the grill off without opening the hood.