Mystery of the disappearing brake fluid

tjthorson

OK - bear in mind, I have been working on cars for over 20 years, but I have a real head scratcher - and Im hoping the Riviera collective might know something that Im missing. I have a 1964 Riviera, 425 dual quad. Factory single chamber master cylinder. Previous owner looks to have replaced front brake hoses, and rear hard lines that are on the axle. I have had all 4 drums off and all 4 wheel cylinders are dry, no moisture on the drums either. The master cylinder keeps emptying - even if not driven. I see no evidence of fluid on the frame anywhere along the brake lines. Hoses are dry. I can fill the master cylinder, check it a week later and its bone dry. Intersting part is - if I fill it, there does not appear to be any air in the system - ever. Brakes all work perfectly when you fill it back up. If I sit and hold the brake pedal - pedal is not spongy and doesn't sink at all.

But - here is the weird part.... The rear axle appears to have developed a leak... almost as if its overfull. Its not coming out the pinion seal. Question is - is there any way that brake fluid could be leaking into the axle assembly itself, causing the axle to overflow onto the ground? The brake lines run over the top of the axle and look new.... This is driving me crazy. But Im confused by the rear axle suddenly leaking appearing to be overfull - but the wheel cylinders being dry, and new lines running over the axle and not appearing to be leaking....

Logically I know its going somewhere - anyone ever seen this before????

I wiped down the front crossmember now that I replaced the front main seal to see if maybe under the grease and grime its leaking in the front hard line.... But then I would think I would have spongy brakes, sinking pedal, and obvious puddles on the ground....

Any weird Riviera thing I might be missing?