23 4 cylinder Carb rebuild

Guest norwayspruce1952

Guest norwayspruce1952

Hello

I am a newbie on Buick,post-101431-14314266326_thumb.jpg

that has recently bought a 23 Buick 4 cylinder roadster. It has not run in 32 years but did remember when it was running. Have been going threw the fuel system ( fuel tank rebuilt and sealed, vacuum tank done) and have got as far as the carb and need to rebuild it.

I thought I found a rebuild kit from: http://www.thecarburetorshop.com/Kbuick1.htm But after conferring with them and being unable to find any casting or stamped numbers on the body, they would not sell me anything, as they say there is too many different ones.

Can someone recommend or have a rebuild kit for my marvel carburetor for this year. I have included 2 pictures of the carb.

Thank You in advance.

Kevin Kelly

Iowa

post-101431-143142663258_thumb.jpg

I wouldn't wait for a kit. When you remove & clean up the jets, suck on one end with your finger over the other end to verify the jets have no cracks & re-install them with the old fiber seals. Replace the heat riser tube with a scrap piece of aluminized exhaust tubing and make a new cork float from three wine corks.

Guest norwayspruce1952

post-101431-143142665152_thumb.jpg

Thanks Mark,

But can I even get a rebuild kit for this carburetor? All gaskets I think were original as they just fell apart, so need them, and it does have some wear on the needle but the speedo only shows 5800 miles. Other fiber gaskets just should not be used I think, as there is not much left of them. I do not think I want to tackle this project the way you say, and would either like to have a rebuild kit or have someone else that can do it correctly. Can you or anyone else help?

Is the heat riser tube the thing that sticks up into the exhaust manifold, that the incoming air for the carburetor comes threw? It seems to currently be in fine shape.

Any help from anyone, on my project would be appreciated.

Thank You

Kevin Kelly