How to start a 1927 Chrysler 50

Guest basketballtitan

Guest basketballtitan

Ok folks you helped me before hope you can help me again. I got the 27 back to my garage and am ready to try to start the car. However, There is no ignition, however there is a dial on the dash where one of the options is ignition. Please help as their is no key to turn. There is also a knob on the floor to the right of the gas pedal. As you can see I am a newbie, just trying to get this car started for my dad. He has had in the shed for 3yrs and was told was running when it was put away. Thanks in advance for any help on this one

Before you begin, check the gas has not gone bad. If it smells like gas you are ok. If it smells like old stinky varnish DO NOT start the car until you drain the gas and clean the tank. Bad gas can gum up or freeze up your motor.

Isn't there a key hole in the dial?

I'm no 27 Chrysler expert but my guess is, the knob on the floor is the starter. Push down hard with your foot and the starter should go. Set the dial to ignition, set the choke, and the throttle if there is one, and turn the starter.

There should be a hand choke on the dash or possibly on the steering wheel. In cold weather it needs to be closed all the way, in mild weather 1/2, in hot weather 1/4 or maybe not on at all if the engine is warm.

Hand throttle should be 1/4 to 1/2, again, depending how cold the engine is.

As soon as the engine starts you should adjust the throttle and choke for a steady idle. When the engine is warm they can be dispensed with.

With a little practice you will get the feel for how much throttle and choke you need to start. Or pull the choke all the way closed and open it as soon as it starts.