Complete novice lady, and my '37 Buick Century

Guest Miss E

Guest Miss E

Hello All!

Elise here. I have a very basic working knowledge of cars, picked up from friends along the way, but I am diving right in with my lovely lady. We had a wonderful ride last Saturday, and then again a couple of days ago... but that is when she revealed to me that she needed some assistance. Water everywhere upon stopping, and then after starting once, refused and sent fuel running from the carb. (I do suspect that the gent who put the water in the radiator for me may have simply flooded her, but I have been advised I should rebuild the carb).

She did finally start again after a few taps to the carb, and I rushed her home...where she dumped water all over the street again, poor girl. A friend from a local custom shop stopped by and pointed out that the water seemed to be coming from the pump and that I should begin looking for a replacement.

She is now safely in my back yard and Im now looking to learn all I can and find the appropriate parts to get her fixed up and running about again.

I am located in Las Vegas and was hoping that I might be able to find some kind gents out there who I could ask questions of. I would like to know my girl and how she operates, rather than just take her to a mechanic and have them fix her up for me, so any assistance anyone would be willing to help with would be much appreciated! :-)

I will be taking some more photos tomorrow of the engine compartment... as Ive been looking through the internet Ive seen something in photos that seem to be in another place in my car... lol ... could be I just do not know enough and am mistaken... but I hope someone out there will be able to assist, or suggest other sites that could be helpful.

'Looking forward to learning more, and already enjoying the existing posts here on the site.

Many thanks for the interesting reading thus far, and in advance for future ones!

Miss E (Elise)

Miss E -