speedometer cable

ricosan

I just took delivery of a 1932 8-125. I'm new to Marmons. Today was the first time I've been able to drive it other than just around the block. I got the tags today and drove it 5 or 6 miles. About half way through the drive an alarming sound came from under the car. The noise would come and go. I noticed fluctuations in the speedometer as the noise came and went. I felt the speedometer cable and it had a vibration. Is there any place to buy a speedometer cable for a Marmon What can I do?

ricosan

post-97329-143142318806_thumb.jpg

I'm in Tallahassee. I've heard of White Georgia but I don't know where it is. I tried to find a speedometer company around here but Tallahassee is too small. Jacksonville is the nearest I found. It looks like the cable attaches to the rear wheel. Does this sound right?

ricosan

Layden,

No! How do you lubricate the cable. Do I have to remove it from the sleeve and grease it? what type of grease should I use? It does sound like a lubrication problem as I can drive a mile or two before the noise starts and then the speedometer goes wild. If I stop and back up a few feet I can then proceed without the noise for maybe a quarter of a mile. I've been looking for an owners manual for the 1932 so that I can learn how to service the car and maintain it properly. There was little information about this car when I purchased it and I have no records from previous owners. I'm rambling.

ricosan