1946 V-12 Electrical? HELP

Guest TylerSmith

Guest TylerSmith

Hello this is my first time posting to this forum I have 1946 Lincoln Zephyr V-12. From what I can see it looks to lightly restored the story my mother got when she bought the car in 02 was it was in a family in Canada since it was new. The engine was rebuilt prior to her buying it. The car has always had an issue that when the engine gets warm it looses power and if it stalls it will not restart (seems to crank at normal speed) when it would cool down it would fire right up and each time it would shut down it would go a little farther. My grandfather had the car at the time and as he isn't much of a mechanic they came to the consensus that it was a problem with the coil. I don't know if they bought a new coil or sent it out to be gone over. When my grandfather couldn't use the clutch anymore it came back to my mothers house and as it isn't very reliable it didn't leave the garage for about 3 years so I trailered the car to my house and I got it running it is definitely firing on all 12 cylinders. A friend of mine and I dug the car out today to play with it and we cleaned all of the spark plugs as the car didn't have any power. Then we decided to pull the carb off any clean it. So we pulled the carb all apart and cleaned everything. When we got the car back together we took it for a ride and it ran great so we bring it back to the shop and started playing with a brake light issue. We go to take the car out about an hour later and it wouldn't get out of it's own way. I got about a 1/2 mile away and it stalled and wouldn't restart so my friend goes to get his truck and we pull start it, it fires right up but still has no power I had to floor it just to be able to let the clutch out. I get it back in the garage we still can't get it to start so I come in the house to eat after about 3 hours I go out and the car starts right up but I'm to afraid to take it out now. I am a 25 year old diesel mechanic I have