Value? How many? 1949 Buick Road Master Wagon

Guest tboldstuff

Guest tboldstuff

I have a 1949 Buick Road master Wagon, that is in need of full restoration. Wood there but needs replacing. Engine tight, some rust, back bumper bent. It is complete - all parts - including fender skirts - my questions:

1. What is it worth - I have someone wanting to buy it.

2. How many titled, in process of restoration, or just sitting ect?

3. How do you post a picture?

Thanks - new to AACA

Guest Rob McDonald

I love woodies and I love '49 Buicks. Can't help you with survivor figures except to say that about 1% of most car models survive more than 50 or 60 years. No clue whether that rate is higher for woodies because they're so interesting or lower because they tend to rot away faster than steel cars.

As for value, I've got to say Not Much, sorry. Project cars needing a lot of work have not kept pace in value with restored cars in the past five years. The cost of restoration is just so high that no one wants to pay much for the "cores". So although a tired but complete running car like yours, which needs work, can fetch $40,000, a basket case could go for just $5000. If your car is anywhere close to being made drivable, you really should make the effort and even spend a couple of thousand to do so, before trying to sell it. On the other hand, if the body is just a pile of kindling, having a running chassis might not improve your return by much.

Here's how to post pictures. First, load the photos to your Desktop, to make them easy to find. Jpgs work best and they should be less than 200KB in size. Pdfs can work too but they have to be smaller files. (Downsizing files varies from system to system and I can really only advise on that if you're working on a Mac.)