'40 Continental Rear Brake Rebuild

Ron K.

I have acquired all new parts and am trying to assemble the rear brakes but I cannot get the shoes to seat properly on the top post and think that the emergency brake cable may be the problem. I tried to partially applying the emergency brake and it helped a little bit but still would not allow the shoes to seat properly in place. I studied all of the depictions that I can find in case I was not reassembling it properly and have done an unsuccessful search on this forum and my "Way of the Zephyr" magazines. I would appreciate any tips you experienced guys may have. Ron

Ron, here are two photos of each side, left and right rear. The emergency brake cable should be loosened enough to allow the brakes to fit up properly to the posts. If you loosen the cable and it doesnt seem to move, you may have to disconnect the cable, start putting penetrating oil on the cable, then start pulling from the brake side and working it back and forth till it frees up. Partially applying the emergency brake will only make it more difficult to seat the top of the shoes.

Check your assembly against these photos to make sure all is well.

Make sure the adjuster with the star wheel is taken all of the way in. You can adjust that later.

I usually place the shoes flat on the floor and add the adjuster and bottom spring. Then I lift the assembly to the backing plate, attatch the emergency brake cable, and install the pins and springs to hold it in place. Then install the spreader bar making sure it is in the slots, then place the funny shaped washer over the pin and add the springs. Sometimes bumping the shoes back and forth once installed on the backing plate will help center everything and seat the top of the shoes on the post.