Dodge 2500 Cummins truck

Hi all --- Shopping around for a truck and came across a 1996 Dodge 2500 Cummins diesel. The truck has 200,000 miles on it but is in a rust-free southern climate. I'd fly out to drive it home.

I've no experience with diesels nor the Dodge Ram, but is 200,000 a lot of miles for this truck? Or are they good for a lot more?

I want to find something closer to 100,000 miles but the budget doesn't allow.

Thanks

IMPORTANT...on the '99 Cummins Diesel be sure to check the block for a large cast #53. If the block has this # stay away. Virtually all "53" blocks are cracked just above the oil pan or will crack above the oil pan. They come from a bad batch of block castings. Google Cummins 53 block for more info. Cost me $6000 for a new engine for my '99. If the block is OK then at 200K miles the engine is barely broken in. These engines regularly run 300-500K miles. Beware of the automatic transmissions on the '99. They are notorious for giving up under the torque of the Cummins. We now run a 2004 and a '94. In my opinion they are the perfect tow vehicle but expensive to maintain.

Guest franktheviking