Jumping in head first. 32 Chevy?

Guest jrhoa2

Guest jrhoa2

Hello all! I am a new member and would like to introduce myself. My name is James and I am new to auto restoration. I have more experience in aviation than I do in old cars. I am just finishing up an antique Cessna airplane right now and started keeping an eye open for something new. My next project just fell into my lap. I pretty much purchased it sight unseen. Well, I did see it, at least the front left fender. I bought it before I really looked it over. I could not pass up the price! What the owner told me was that they thought it was a 32' Chevy four door. They do have the title but will have to look for it. After I bought it, I looked it over as close as I could in the dark corner of the storage building that it is in. Here is what I found. There is no engine and the tranny may be inside the cab. The hood is missing. The roof is gone. The visor is missing. There are two boxes inside the car that mount to the rear of the car. There are 6 wire spoke wheels, four on the car and one on each fender. The wood work inside the car is pretty rough. The steel body looks solid with one rust hole in the left rear around the tail light. I think all the lights/light frames are there. Seat frames with springs look to be inside the car. All glass is broken or gone.

I had originally wanted to bring it back close to original as I could. After I found out that the engine was missing, I started to think I may want to get it closer to a daily driver. I love the lines of it. The wheels in the fenders, the storage box on the back, and the basic instrument panel. I do not want to change any of the looks of the car but would like to make it as reliable and comfortable as possible. I know this goes against how alot of you feel about classic cars. I have no intentions of chopping it. What I am thinking is somehow put a modern drive train under it and maintain its classic good looks.