1910 Mitchell Oiler question

JV Puleo

I am just beginning to rebuild the engine of my 1910 Mitchell Model T (4 cyl). I have had a fair amount of brass car experience (albeit years ago) but I've never come across this problem before.

The Mitchell has a 6-station oiler. Its operation is fairly obvious and simple, its an external pump that delivers oil to the cylinders, main bearings and timing gears. My question is, does the oil return? If so, how? I could well be missing something. The engine has been apart and has the look of having been hastily reassembled in order to sell the car. But never having seen one before, I can't really tell. Its hard to imagine it is a total loss system as late as 1910... Also, it has a fairly large crankcase but no sight gauge or level plug, nor does it have ports that would allow you to look into the crankcase so I can't see how you were supposed to check the level.

It is a total loss system. Anything with a gravity or forced (pressure or pump) oiler with a filler cap is a total loss oil system. Most will retain some oil in the pan or bottom of the crankcase but it does not return to the oil tank.

I hadn't thought of stand pipes. There are 2 drains in the pan, one at the front and the other at the rear. In both cases the plugs, petcocks etc are missing but 2 stand pipes would make sense.

Thanks, JVP

• 2 weeks later...