1924 dodge brothers

Does anyone know what the set screw on the right side of the engine is for,it is towarrd the back of the engine. It is about in line with the last bearing of the cam,but i don't think it has anything to do with the cam.But i don't know, any infor. appreciated.

That is for the oil feed blow out plug. From the Mechanics Instruction Manual "The oil feed pipe in engine should be cleaned at least once each season with compressed air. This can be accomplished by removing the oil feed blow out plug and the oil check valve cap and blow out with compressed air."

I hope that helps!

Roland

Boy yes that helps, I would not ever figured that out,thanks a lot. I have restored a lot of model a and ts, but dodge brothers are all new to me ,I will proably have a lot more question later. dodge are a lot different than anything I worked on before,thanks agin

Bill I am also new to the Dodges, my other car is a 1923 T model tourer and I love mucking about in it and driving it around, "a horseless carraige". I now have a 1923 Dodge pickup and am having alot of fun getting it ready to license. I have a leaky gearbox at the front where it drips out the clutch drainhole, may need to tend to that. My oil pressure is right up there so I will have a look at blowing out the line as Roland outlined. thanks Roland. cheers, John.

Guest FOlsen

Me too. A couple of T's and now a 26 DB. Running and now drives with new brakes, seals, etc, but the paint, upholstery and glass are still on the way.

I have a '25. My Mechanics' Instruction Manual states that for engines after car A875-380, "the oil feed pipe in engine should be cleaned at least once each season with compressed air". My car's ID for 1925 is well below A875-380. Today, I checked my car and the only oil tube I can see on the right side of the engine is running from the oil check valve to the oil pressure gauge. Where is the oil feed pipe (on the 1924) that should be cleaned? Can anyone provide any photo's?