Fair value on 1922 Stanley Steamer Express?

Guest Tishabet

Guest Tishabet

Hi all,

I've often thought about steam cars but figured they were out of my reach financially. I stumbled across an ad in hemmings (listed under trucks and commercial and under the heading of "steamer" rather than Stanley) for this vehicle:

Legendary Motorcar - Home of Dream Car Garage

mid 20s is something I could possibly do for the right vehicle and I guess I assumed that steam cars would not be available at this price point.

That being said, since I am a total newbie to steam cars can you tell me whether the asking price for this one is reasonable? Any feedback on condition etc? Keep in mind that I don't really know what all I'm looking at under the hood on this one. If the boiler needs to be replaced, what is ballpark cost for such a major component?

Thanks!

Guest festanley

Boilers are running around 5K. This car is basically a 735 or 740 Stanley chassis with a pretty crude body. Mid 20's would be a pretty big price especially if you had to replace the boiler. Plus I think it would be a hard one to sell if you evey needed to. There is just too much that is not Stanley.

Alan

Guest Tishabet

Hi Alan,

this is exactly the kind of feedback I was looking for, thank you!

When you say "There is just too much that is not Stanley" do you mean the vehicle is very non-original, or that this particular one being a truck is just not going to hold a candle to the far more popular Stanley touring cars?

I've been poking around looking for more info on this model and can barely find anything, the only documentation of any sort I could find was on the Stanley Registry site where they list the Express model as being made only through 1917... who knows. They do have a picture of the express made in 1916, which has the cooler hood.

1916_825_expr.jpg