1955 Disc Brake Conversion Kit?

Guest 1955BuickBarnRat

Guest 1955BuickBarnRat

I am new to the forum and looking for some help on how to convert my 1955 Buick Special 2 dr to a front disc brake setup. I was told there is a guy on here who has a list of everything you need to convert to disc brakes including part numbers? If anyone knows more information on this that would be great! Thanks

Guest Jim_Edwards
I am new to the forum and looking for some help on how to convert my 1955 Buick Special 2 dr to a front disc brake setup. I was told there is a guy on here who has a list of everything you need to convert to disc brakes including part numbers? If anyone knows more information on this that would be great! Thanks

I would contact these folks, though I'm not a big proponent of disc brake conversions. They sell a front brake kit for $155 but you will have to buy the rotors and calipers they list with the kit. Also recommended you go to a dual chamber master cylinder.

Scarebird Classic Brakes LLC

Jim

Guest 1955BuickBarnRat

That was very helpful! Thanks. So has anybody out there installed the kit using the part numbers Scarebird gives? If so... How involved was it? Also where are people mounting their master cylinders instead of using the stock location?

I know that many people perceive that they HAVE to have disc brakes to have "good brakes", but that might not be completely true. It would be better to upgrade to a dual master cylinder as a first upgrade (AND part of the disc brake upgrade, anyway). You might be able to use some existing hardware/components from street rod upgrades (many of which are sold by vendors who advertise in Street Rodder magazine, or similar) as most of the earlier systems were "under the floor" rather than "on the firewall".