Picking up the pieces...

Trained Monkey

Hello to all,

I am just getting into the restoration of a Raceabout, and spoke with Mr Hoch on the Phone recently. He told me that there was a instruction book of some sort that was available at considerable cost to copy. I am writing in hopes that one of you may be able to post a picture of the cover so that i can see if it is the same as the one Granger F. Hill sent my grandfather years ago. I would rather not spend that cost only to get something that i already have. :)

Thanks.

There would be very different books depending on whether you have a T head, L head, or six cylinder verhead valve Series Six Raceabout. (Incidentally, Jerry Gebby, who had owned T and L head Mercers, and worked on sixes for customers, said that the six was the "best of all to drive". John Boyle would have told you that they were the fastest also, having driven through police radar in his late Series 6 Raceabout.

I have copy of an instruction manual of essentials for the L heads, which was the work of Morris Burrows and Henry Newman in 1959. It is 30-odd pages, and it is not a problem to photocopy or scan (when I can persuade my son to do the latter). It is not totally comprehensive because it pre-supposes some basic mechanical aptitude. Charles Accisano kindly insisted on giving this to me on the 1980 Glidden, but I doubt whether Morris had one because he never mentioned or showed me one when I was his guest on that Glidden.

There are a few things that need emphasis.

1) Line bore the main bearings only with the block bolted properly to the crankcase. If the mains are out of line by more than the thickness of the oil film the crankshaft will flex every rotation, and the answer comes quickly. The same problem was apparently built into the sixes because Rochester machined the blocks from "green castings" and the distortion caused centre main bearing trouble. (They are well aged now, of course.)