Seeking HiComp 1965 330 Engine or Crankshaft & Advice on Engine ID

Guest JustJordy

Guest JustJordy

I'm not a Newbie to Oldsmobiles, but this is my first Classic or Vintage Olds and since I've always been a Chevy man with the exception of my 58 Buick and my GMCs, I'm ignorant regarding early small blocks, however I'm reading great stuff about the 330 engine which is what's in my 65 Cutlass Convertible.

The restoration done in the early 80s was well documented and the car was in storage for almost 2 decades but unfortunately the heir to the collector's estate is clueless, and I've found nothing indicating that anything was done except cosmetic work. I've not uncovered the codes on the right head yet because of the power steering pump brackets as I am driving the car for inspections, tire installation etc, but the casting on the front of the block shows to be a 66-67 394417 39° cam bank angle according to what I've read, so I'm asking for assistance. The number that's easily visible on mine is 394417 3 and my question for you experts is... COULD THIS BE THE CORRECT NUMBERS MATCHING ENGINE FOR A LATE PRODUCTION LANSING MICH 65 CUTLASS CONVERTIBLE, or has the engine been changed out? Everything indicates this is an original 66,000 mile car including the title and assurances of the seller and their agent, and I first became alarmed and concerned when my Carb guy said that this has a 67 W-30 Quadrajet which he's rebuilding and setting up for my small block since it ran really rich, leaked all over the place and loaded up on occasion. Tank and fuel lines were flushed and we're double filtering pre pump and in carb.

Engine ID numbers on heads makes no sense to me because you can change out the heads easily, so how do I figure this out guys?

If this isn't the correct engine for my car I want to acquire one eventually so I'll be on the hunt, and I want the best heads which are the 330 with a #4 stamp correct??? I've acquired some already so I hope so! LOL