Showfield Etiquette ?

Guest DonRich90

Guest DonRich90

I have a friend who just joined AACA and will have his Buick Riviera on the showfield at Hershey for judging for the first time this year. Last night we were discussing some of the rules and the preparation of his car for the show. One of his concerns is finding out what faults the judges may find so that he can work on having them corrected.

Even though I have attended Hershey as a spectator for a number of years, I have little or no knowledge of the judging process other than what I have read in Antique Automobile. I would appreciate any comments/suggestions on what an owner should or shouldn't do and what discussions with the judges are appropriate or inappropriate while the car is being judged. I know the judges cannot disclose the numerical score but can they or will they point out or discuss what faults they may have found ?

I know my friend is anxious about this new experience and hopes to do well but, he doesn't want to interfere with the judges or the judging process or breech any showfield etiquette.

Thanks.

Don

Guest quadfins

Get one of the judging manuals. I think they are also on line. Find the page that has the sample judging score sheet. Make a copy, and then use it to go around the car as if you were a judge. Better still, make two copies, and have a friend join the fun. (Maybe an ex-friend, soon). Be brutally honest, then work on the fixes. Owners usually know the flaws better than judges, although we can also "miss" obvious things that were are used to seeing. That's what the ex-friend will be good for.

Talk to judges and those familiar with similar cars BEFORE you take the car to a meet, in order to get tips. DON'T talk to the judges during the process (except the usual pleasantries).

When it is all over, and the damage is done, your friend might approach the judges (if he can find them) to help evaluate the car for improvement.