Motor Oil: Zinc and Other Myths

Guest 70 Electra

Guest 70 Electra

There's a lot of well-intended advice floating around about "zinc" in motor oil, including allegations that the latest (new car) oils are harmful to our old cars.

While I'm no expert on this, I am fortunate to have a good friend who IS just such an expert, as well as a member of our hobby. While he is, by nature, a modest individual that likes to stay out of the controversy, I felt it would be helpful to the collector car community to share some of my friend's knowledge on the subject. His attached document about various historic myths surrounding motor oil is both factual, as well as entertaining, and was written to respond to the numerous requests he receives on the topic. Note that it addresses the alleged "zinc issue" very well. (See attached PDF file)

By way of introduction, Mr. Robert Olree is one of the foremost experts on motor oil in the world. His careers at Ethyl Corporation and GM Research are marked with considerable recognition for his extensive contributions to the industry. Among his many technical publications is an SAE research paper (#2004-01-2986) entitled "How Much ZDP is Enough". Due to copyright restrictions, I cannot post this document, but it is available through SAE and most technical libraries (Universities, etc) can obtain it for you. Anyone interested in fact-over-fiction on the zinc topic should read it.

For those that want the bottom line, it is this:

1. Current modern (i.e. "new car") oils contain adequate "zinc" for protection of flat-tappet engines that are already broken-in.

2. Appropriate assembly lube should continue to be utilized on new cam & lifters to prevent scuffing during break-in. However, these assembly lubes (like GM Engine Oil Supplement & Assembly Lube) should NOT be used beyond break-in period (see #3 below)

3. Excessive "zinc" additives can actually cause excessive wear and should be avoided.

Engine Oil Mythology 2-2007.pdf

Guest 70 Electra