1937 Buick Special

marcnoni

I have a 37 buick special model 41. I bought it in pretty good shape but am going to do some work on it. I am interested in finding out where I can find all of the pieces to the hood mechanisms. That is the part that holds up the hood. The pieces that go on the hood. It looks like there are metal pieces that fit on the corners at the bottom. Any help or pictures would be great. I am not a professional but just try to plug away at this stuff. Also, I am aware that the engines in the 37 buick special were the the 248 but one guy I took it to thought it was the larger 320. Is this possible. The engine looks like an original Buick engine that someone tried to paint blue then green. Does anyone know what the original color of the engine is as I would like to restore it that way. thanks alot and any help is appreciated. Also interested in knowing what the original interior looked like. the trim style is 300.......Anyone with pictures.

Welcome to the forum

If its a model 41 it has the 248 ci engine. The 60 series use the 320 ci engine (about 4" longer).

Have a look at PreWarBuick - The Largest Vintage Buick gallery on the web - PreWarBuick.com

And search on this forum for 1937 Buick in the gallery

Guest DaveCorbin

Dear Marcnoni:

1937 trim code 300 is for tan bedford cord.

If you look at your engine on the right side just behind the distributor, you'll find a small machined surface. Read the numbers there. If the first digit is a 4, it's an engine for a Special and is a 248. IF it's a 5, it's an engine for a Super which would be a later engine. IF it's a 6, 8, or 9, it's a 320 and your car is either a Century or someone's done a MAJOR shoehorn job.

Regards, Dave Corbin

Congrats on your car.