my 66 skylark

Guest als 66

Hi Everyone, Just purchased my first Buick. A 1966 skylark convertible. WHAT'S HAPPENING TO ME!!!! It's all I can think about, when I go to bed at night and when I wake up in the morning.. I'm in the process right now of restoring the panels and the interior and I can't wait for summer. I got for a steal at 2 grand. Let me know what you think... AL

post-59605-143138027002_thumb.jpg

Hi, By the way, the engine is a 310 Wildcat. Maybe not a racer but she cruises like a dream. I'm kind of new to the car resto thing. Maybe someone could give me some tips on what to do with the engine. Nothing crazy!! I can't afford to rip it out and slap in a 455. Just tips on keeping it going after 42 years.

It's a Buick. There's no reason it won't keep going. However, that being said, it may behoove you to look into the proper engine oil.

Lately there has beena lot of talk about ill effects of using todays engine oils in older cars. Todays oils have been stripped of zink additives to protect the electronic sensors in computer equiped vehicles. But this zinc helped protect the valve train pieces in the older engines.

There is at least one company producing engine oil with zinc but I can't recall the name. Other than that you may want to look for a zinc additive for when you change your oil. I use STP oil treatment as it shows zinc additives right on the label, but I don't know for a fact if that is even sufficient.

The other thing is to make sure you use a quality oil filter. Quality oil filters use a coil sprin to hold the filter cartridge off the bottom of the filter. Some cheaper filters use a piece spring steel to do this and I have read about people who claim these cheaper filters will fail under pressure. Even though that never happened to me, I have switched to a better quality filter for my classics.

Good luck.

Guest ZondaC12

JD---