1950 Silverstreak

Guest 50silverstreak

Guest 50silverstreak

I am new to AACA and I have a 1950 2 door Pontiac Silverstreak 6 cylinder, which I bought about a year ago. It seems to be hard to find a lot of information on this car and I am unclear if "Silverstreak" is the Model name of the car or the trim package. My radio says chieftan. Can anyone explain the models of this year and where mine fits. Most part are listed under Chieftan and I rarely see anything about Silverstreak.

Also, I still have a 6 volt set-up. If I change to 12 volt do I have to change all the wiring in addition to the bulbs. The car is mostly oringinal so I don't know if I should spend the money to change to 12volt or keep it original??

When I have the headlights on and just idling at a light my "charge" is in the negative. Is this normal ??

Thanks,

Christopher

Guest 49 Streamliner

Christopher,

"Silver Streak" referred to the chrome or stainless strips that ran the length of the hood and sometimes the trunk. They were a distinguishing design feature for Pontiacs starting in 1935. They had them in various widths through 1956. A member of another forum I belong to said that after 1951 they weren't referred to as Silver Streaks anymore even though the streaks were still there.

In 1950 the two body styles were Chieftain and Streamliner. The Streamliner was a "fastback", and the Chieftain was a "notchback". Both could be either 2-door or 4-door. The 1949 and '50 models had the label "Silver Streak" on the sides of the front fenders. If you had an 8 cylinder, it would read "Silver8Streak". I believe all the basic radios were labeled "Chieftain" even if they were in a Streamliner.

Someone with more expertise than me can probably help you with your electrical questions.

Can you post a picture of your car?

Bill

Guest 50silverstreak

Bill,