'50 Buick 56R

oldwood

I'm new to the Buick forum. I just bought a 1 owner 1950 56R out of a garage. Hasn't been taged since 1977. It has every piece of paper work since new ie.owners manuel, Hydramatic pamplets, the little cards that hangs off of the cig. lighter,a thank you note from Buick Motor Division in Flint 2,Michigan post marked Jan. 27, 10am,1951 with a 3 cent stamp, sales tax receipt, sales invoice that lists options w/ total purchase price ($2400.00). Too many others to describe. I'll post pics as soon as I figure out how. I can't wait to here it run.

Got it running today but it has no oil at the rocker arm assy. Its running good oil pressure at the guage. 95K miles on the motor. What kind of problems will I have at this mileage. Chiltons refers to the oiling tubes. Any suggetions?

Only using visual information from a 38, I believe the oil escapes the rocker arm via one or two small holes in the rocker shaft, just above the keepers on the valve springs. If you really have no oil at the valves then I'd pull the rocker arm and take it apart to try to clean it all internally. If you hae no oil at the rocker arm itself then that's a different story and I don't know what to suggest.

Guest DaveCorbin

Dear Oldwood:

The way the whole thing works is that each rocker arm has a feed hole under it in the long rocker arm shaft. This hole feeds the rocker arm. The rocker arm shaft is fed thru the clearance in the front rocker arm stand, so line up of the shaft in both front to back direction and rotational direction is critical. There is a hole in the cylinder head that feeds the bottom of the front rocker arm stand. In the side of the cylinder head near the front is a small oil line opening that either feeds from the filter (if the car has one) or via a small tube from side of the block. It's easy to check and clean, but be very careful to get everything back together the right way.

Regards, Dave Corbin