Unusual Engine Part

Guest 49 Streamliner

Guest 49 Streamliner

Hello,

I've attached a couple of photos of a part on the engine of my '49 streamliner, and was wondering if someone knows what it is. In the photos it is located just to the right of the thermostat housing. I have taken the top of it off, and it is basically hollow with a wick-like material inside. A retired mechanic I talked to said it was probably an add-on gimmick a previous owner ordered from the back of a magazine.

This is my first attempt at posting with photos, following the directions given in Bob's earlier post. I hope it works.

Bill

post-55039-143137964065_thumb.jpg

post-55039-143137964066_thumb.jpg

Guest Pete Woodruff

Bill,

I'm still searching for an answer, but I would like some clarification. The photo clearly shows 2 distinct sets of "flats" beneath the unit in question; do you know if these are both nuts on a long stud being used to secure the cylinder head? Also, is that wicking material that appears to be sticking out at the bottom of the unit?

Guest 49 Streamliner

Pete,

It was a couple years ago when I had it apart. If I remember correctly, the top part of the rounded section came off using a pair channel lock pliers, with some effort. The bowl shape bottom section, above the threaded rod, stayed in place. There was a crumbling gasket between the two. That is a wick, or something like it, above the threaded rod and it goes inside. The wick was dry. If memory serves me, I think the threaded rod is actually hollow and the wick goes down it.

I hesitate to take it apart again, due to the poor condition of the gasket.

Bill

• 1 year later...
Guest kencary

I agree that there appears to be some sort of spacer between this thing and the head.

I just looked at my '51 and there is no spacer on that head bolt.

I can't imagine how this thing could do anything since the head bolt just goes to a solid hole in the block.